TREATY on Collective Security

The States Parties to this Treaty, hereinafter referred to as "States Parties",

guided by declarations on sovereignty of Independent States,

taking into account the establishment by the States Parties of their own Armed Forces,

adopting agreed actions in the interests of providing for collective security,

recognizing the need to strictly implement the concluded treaties related to the reduction of armaments and Armed Forces and to the strengthening of confidence measures, have agreed as follows.

Article 1

The States Parties shall confirm the obligation to restrain from threat or use of force in the inter-state relations. They shall undertake to settle all the differences among them and with other states by peaceful means.

The States Parties will not enter any military alliances or take part in any groupings of states as well as in actions directed against some other State Party.

In case a system of collective security is established in Europe and Asia and treaties on collective security are concluded to this end, which will consistently be sought by the contracting parties, the States Parties will enter into immediate consultations with one another with the aim of making amendments required to this Treaty.

Article 2

The States Parties will consult one another on all important issues of international security infringing on their interests and coordinate their positions on these issues.

In case of threat to security, territorial integrity and sovereignty of one or several States Parties or threat to international peace and security, the States Parties will immediately put into action the mechanism ofjoint consultations with a view to coordinating their positions and taking measures to eliminate the threat that has emerged.

Article 31)

The States Parties shall establish a Council of Collective Security consisting of the heads of the States Parties and the Commander-in-Chief of the Joint Armed Forces of the Commonwealth of Independent States.

Article 4

If an aggression is committed against one of the States Parties by any state or a group of states, it will be considered as an aggression against all the States Parties to this Treaty.

In case an act of aggression is committed against any of the States Parties, all the other States Parties will render it necessary assistance, including military one, as well as provide support with the means at their disposal through an exercise of the right to collective defense in accordance with Article 51 of the UN Charter.

The States Parties will immediately inform the United Nations Security Council of the measures taken in accordance with this Article. While taking these measures, the States Parties will abide by the relevant provisions of the UN Charter.

Article 5

Coordination of and provision for joint activities of the States Parties in accordance with this Treaty shall be undertaken by the Council of Collective Security of the States Parties and the bodies established thereby. Until the said bodies are established, the activities of the Armed Forces of the States Fames shall be coordinated by the Supreme Command of the Joint Armed Forces of the Commonwealth.

Article 6

A decision to use the Armed Forces for the purpose of repulsing aggression in accordance with Article 4 of this Treaty shall be taken by the heads of the States Parties.

The Armed Forces can be used beyond the territory of the States Parties exclusively m the interests of international security in strict compliance with the Charter of the United Nations and the legislation of the States Parties to this Treaty.

Article 7

The location and functioning of collective security facilities on the territory of States Parties shall be governed by special agreements.

Article 8

This Treaty shall not affect any rights or obligations under other effective bilateral and multilateral treaties and agreements that the States Parties have concluded with other states, or be directed against any third country.

This Treaty shall not affect the right of any State Party to individual or collective defense from aggression in accordance with the Charter of the United Nations.

The States Parties shall undertake not to conclude any international agreements incompatible with this Treaty.

Article 9

Any questions concerning the interpretation or application of any provision of this Treaty that may arise among the States Parties shall be settled conjointly, in the spirit of friendship, mutual respect and understanding.

Amendments to this Treaty may be initiated by one or several States Parties and shall be approved by mutual consent

Article 10

This Treaty shall be open to accession by any states concerned that share its goals and principles.

Article 11

This Treaty shall be concluded for a period of five years, subject to a further renewal.

Any State Party shall have the right to withdraw from this Treaty provided it gives at least a six months' prior notice of this intention to other Parties and fulfils all obligations that ensue from the withdrawal from this Treaty.

This Treaty is subject to ratification by each signatory State Party in accordance with their constitutional procedures. The instruments of ratification shall be deposited with the Government of the Republic of Belarus hereby designated as the Depository.

This Treaty shall enter into force immediately after the deposition of the instruments of ratification by the signatory States Parties'.2)

DONE in Tashkent this 15!h day of May, 1992 in one original copy in the Russian language. The original shall be deposited with the Archives of the Government of the Republic of Belarus which shall send certified copies thereof to all signatory states.

1)The Council of Collective Security established the following composition of the Council in its resolution of 24 December 1993 "On Priority Measures to Implement the Treaty on Collective Security of 15 May 1992". "The Council of Collective Security includes the heads of the States Parties, ministers of foreign affairs, ministers of defense of the States Parties and the Secretary-General of the Council of Collective Security. The heads of the States Parties can appoint their plenipotentiary representatives for participation in the sessions".

2)The Treaty has been signed by the Republic of Armenia, the Republic of Kazakhstan, the Kyrgyz Republic, the Rusiian Federation, the Republic of Tajikistan, and the Republic of Uzbekistan. The Instrument of accession to the Treaty was signed by the Republic of Azerbaijan on September 24, 1993, by Georgia, on Dcccmbci 9, 1993, and by the Republic of Belarus on December 31, 1993

Under Article 11, the Treaty entered into force for the Republic of Armenia, the Republic of Azerbaiian. the Republic of Belarus, Georgia, the Republic of Kazakhstan, the Kyrgys Republic, the Russian Federation, the Republic of Tajikistan and the Republic of Uzbekistan on April 20, 1994